Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet Audiobook Review

Fourth Grave Beneath my FeetMy Rating: ★★★★★

Author: Darynda Jones

Narrator: Lorelei King

Publisher: Macmillan Audio

Length: 9 hrs and28 mins

Download Your Copy Now!


Publisher’s Summary: The fourth in this fun and sexy New York Times best-selling paranormal series.

Sometimes being the grim reaper really is that. Grim. And since Charley’s last case went so awry, she has taken a couple months off to wallow in the wonders of self-pity. But when a woman shows up on her doorstep convinced someone is trying to kill her, Charley has to force herself to rise above. Or at least get dressed. She quickly realizes something is amiss when everyone the woman knows swears she’s insane. The more they refute the woman’s story, the more Charley believes it.

In the meantime, the sexy, sultry son of Satan, Reyes Farrow, has been cleared of all charges. He is out of prison and out of Charley’s life, as per her wishes and several perfectly timed death threats. But his absence has put a serious crimp in her sex life. While there are other things to consider, like the fact that the city of Albuquerque has been taken hostage by an arsonist, Charley is having a difficult time staying away. Especially when it looks like Reyes may be involved. Just when life was returning to normal, Charley is thrust back into the world of crime, punishment, and the devil in blue jeans.

©2012 Darynda Jones (P)2012 Macmillan Audio

My Review: Darynda Jones hasn’t let me down yet! Fourth Grave Beneath My Feet is book four in the Charley Davidson series and is packed with action. I listened as Charley comes out of her hoarding depression and enters back into private investigating after the horrid experience in the previous book.

I still love the relationship between Reyes and Charley, and how hilarious other women act when he’s around. Poor Cookie may have a stroke just thinking about him! Charley and his relationship hits more than one pothole, but her love doesn’t waiver.

The other interesting tidbit is the drama between Charley and her dad. Things go from bad to worse after he turns her into the police while she lay recovering in the hospital and Charley can’t make herself forgive and forget. Not this time.

I’m loving this installment in Jones’ series and I can’t wait to start listening to book five, Fifth Grave Past the Light.

Narrator Review: Lorelei King killed it!! Emotion, suspense and action… King was awesome once again in her narration of all the characters and delivered an A+ work of art. Charley Davidson comes to life when King is behind the mic.

Disclosure: I borrowed this audiobook from my local library. Support your library!!


  1. This series is always an entertaining listen and I agree with you that Lorelei King’s awesome narration is a big part its success. How can you not love Charley, she’s such a smart ass and I laughed out loud many times while listening. It’s good that the events from the previous books haven’t been ignored and she’s dealing with what Earl Walker did to her, it helps ground the story more. Not started book 5 yet, so I have more to look forward to.

Speak Your Mind